Panel Contacts

Economic Development Summit

Friday, May 3, 2013 – Bradenton Performing Arts Center

Panel 1 – Yes, there is Money

Moderator: Timothy J. Cartwright
Compass Advisory Group, LLC
239.262.6300 office
tim@5advise.com

Frank Dalton
Fulcrum Equity Partners
770-551-6331
www.fulcrumep.com

John Clark
New World Angels

Robert Faber
Ballast Point Ventures
RFaber@ballastpointventures.com

Brian Caswell
Cazley and EDIF
Briancaswell@cazley.com

Panel 2 – Florida: Why Here? Why Now?

Moderator: Mike O’Donnell
Founder & CEO, Leaves.com
Director, Founder Institute Tampa
mike@mikeodonnell.com

Laurence S. Liebson
Founder: i-Netix, Inc.
Mentor: USF Connect; Founder Institute Tampa
LLiebson@alum.mit.edu
LLiebson@i-netix.com
585-750-9447

Ron Hollis
ron@ronhollis.com

Keynote – Disruptive Technologies and Disruptive Business Models: In a perfect economy where is growth and return?

Jim Stikeleather
Chief Innovation Officer, Dell
stike_stikeleather@dell.com

Panel 3 – Home grown tech: What is coming out of Florida Universities and what some companies are doing about it

Moderator: Jane M. Muir
University of Florida
Director Florida Innovation Hub at UF & UF Tech Connect
Associate Director, Office of Technology Licensing
jmuir@ufl.edu
Ph. 352-846-1646

Thomas O’Neal, Ph.D
Associate Vice President Office of Research & Commercialization University of Central Florida
oneal@ucf.edu
407-882-1158

Valerie McDevitt
Division of Patents and Licensing University of South Florida
(813) 974-6650
VMCDEVITT@usf.edu

Lou Oberndorf
former CEO of METI
loberndorf@gmail.com

Dr. Chris Morton
Nanophotonica
407-497-6191
chris.morton@nanophotonica.com

Panel 4 – Entrepreneurial Microclimates: Our secret weapon

Moderator: Sara Hand
Gulf Coast Venture Forum – SRQ Chapter President
BarCamp Sarasota – Co-founder
SP Hand and Associates – Strategic Business/Organizational Growth
sara@sphandandassociates.com
941-228-4033

Jacksonville: Jeremy Vaughn
jeremy@feature23.com

Miami: Wifredo L. Fernandez
Co-Founder/CEO – The LAB Miami
www.thelabmiami.com
@thelabmiami
305.496.4596

Bradenton: David M. Gustafson
Executive Director Bradenton Downtown Development Authority
dgustafson@ddabradenton.com
Ph: 941-932-9439

Tampa: Marvin Scaff
marvin@scaff.net